Rainbow Cupcakes

I am honestly so so so excited to share my very first cupcake post! Cupcakes are literally my life and I love them, I don’t know why I haven’t done a post about them sooner 🙂

I created these rainbow cupcakes for a rainbow-themed fundraiser and they were quite popular! I think they’re adorable and a lot easier than I initially expected. If you try them out, let me know!

I think you could change this recipe quite easily to use other colours for other themes and I know I’ll be using this recipe again 🙂 These cupcakes are perfectly sweet and moist, but not too dense and I think I piped the perfect amount of icing. I’ve learnt that cupcakes just aren’t as enjoyable if you’ve got to get through a mountain of icing haha! Enjoy 🙂

Serves: 8

Prep time: 30 minutes

Cook time: 15 minutes

Difficulty: Medium

Oven temp: 200°C

collage

Ingredients:

1/2 cup caster sugar

125g unsalted butter

2 eggs

1 cup self-raising flour

1 teaspoon vanilla essence

3 tablespoons milk

Food colouring

For the icing:

125g butter, softened

1 1/2 cups icing sugar mixture

1 tablespoon milk

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 200°C. Line a 12 hole cupcake tray with 8 cases.
  2. Cream the sugar and butter until pale and fluffy.
  3. Beat the eggs in one at a time adding a little flour in each time until the ingredients are mixed.
  4. Add the vanilla essence and mix. Then add the milk 1 tablespoon at a time mixing after each addition.
  5. Divide the mixture into 4 bowls:
    In Bowl 1 – Add red colouring
    In Bowl 2 – Add yellow colouring
    In Bowl 3 – Add green colouring
    In Bowl 4 – Add blue colouring
    Mix colouring into each mixture after adding.
  6. Divide the blue mixture between the 8 cases. Repeat with the other mixtures in this order: Green, Yellow, Red. I found it useful to slightly smooth out the mixture in the cases with a back of a teaspoon.
  7. Bake in the preheated oven for around 15 minutes.
  8. To make icing, beat butter with an electric mixer until pale. Gradually add icing sugar mixture and milk, beating constantly until combined.
  9. To decorate, I simply piped a small amount of icing onto the top and garnished with rainbow sprinkles. I think slightly softer, pastel rainbow sprinkles look better than bright colours, simply because the actual cupcakes aren’t overly bright.

Notes:

Convertor

Have a sweet day 🙂

13 thoughts on “Rainbow Cupcakes

    • Aww thanks for your sweet comment! You should try baking, you might surprise yourself! I know I wasn’t that great to begin and I’m still not amazing, it’s something I’m constantly working on 🙂 thanks for reading!

      Like

Leave a Reply

